ALERT  
Email
Subscribe
Shop
Shop
Youtube
Youtube
Blogger
Blog
Feeds
Feed
 
January 24, 2012
 
Please Forward this to everyone you know!

Updated ALERT:
We are at risk of Arizona passing a Call for a Constitutional Convention.
 
Please Email or Call the new list of Arizona State Senators below today.
 
Your emails and calls are critical to defeating this measure.
OPPOSE SCR 1005 Amendments Convention” or CON/CON
(Call for a Constitutional Convention)
 
VOTE in Full Senate could be this week. It was postponed due to some objections filed by two Senators. Please contact Senators listed below as soon as possible.
 
MESSAGE: Vote NO on SCR 1005. Do not put our Constitution at risk by asking Congress to “call a Convention for the purpose of proposing amendments.” Article V of the Constitution does not provide any way to limit an “amendments convention.” We don’t trust the politicians with our Constitution. (more information below)
 

CONTACT Senators below:
 
*Sylvia Allen: 602-926-5219, sallen@azleg.gov 

*Frank Antenori: 602-926-5683, fantenori@azleg.gov 

Nancy Barto (sponsor): 602-926-5766, nbarto@azleg.gov 

Adam Driggs: 602-926-3016, adriggs@azleg.gov 

Linda Gray: (sponsor) 602-926-3376, lgray@azleg.gov 

Jack Jackson, Jr.: 602-926-5862, jjackson@azleg.gov 

Lori Klein: 602-926-5284, lklein@azleg.gov 

Al Melvin: 602-926-4326, amelvin@azleg.gov 

Rick Murphy (sponsor): 602-926-4444, rmurphy@azleg.gov 

John Nelson: 602-926-5872, jnelson@azleg.gov 

Steve Pierce (sponsor): 602-926-5584, spierce@azleg.gov 

Michele Reagan: 602-926-5828, mreagan@azleg.gov 

Steve Smith: 602-926-5685, stevesmith@azleg.gov 

Steve Yarbrough: 602-926-5863, syarbrough@azleg.gov 
 
Above email addresses to copy and paste:
 

 
Thank Senators Paula Aboud and Ron Gould for filing a protest on SCR 1005 on the Consent Calendar:
paboud@azleg.gov, 602-926-5262 rgould@azleg.gov, 602-926-4138
 
The original Alert included the following Senators. Please contact them if you have not already.  
 

 
CONTACT Senators below:

Andy Biggs: 602-926-4371, abiggs@azleg.gov

Rich Crandall: 602-926-3020, rcrandall@azleg.gov

Ron Gould: 602-926-4138, rgould@azleg.gov

Gail Griffin: 602-926-5895, ggriffin@azleg.gov

Jerry Lewis: 602-926-5760, jlewis@azleg.gov

John McComish: 602-926-5898, jmccomish@azleg.gov

Don Shooter: 602-926-4139, dshooter@azleg.gov
 
 
Above email addresses to copy and paste:
 

 
Barry Goldwater said: "[I am] totally opposed [to a Constitutional Convention]...We may wind up with a Constitution so far different from that we have lived under for two hundred years that the Republic might not be able to continue." 
 
SCR1005 is a Call for a Constitutional Convention or an “amendments convention” to consider whether an increase in the federal debt should require approval from a majority of the legislatures of the states. Have you witnessed the ferocious battles in Congress over the debt ceiling? Can you imagine what that same battle would entail in a Constitutional Convention which could put our whole Constitution at risk as the “amendments convention” considers multiple versions and multiple amendments?
 
There is no way provided in Article V of the U.S. Constitution to limit the number of amendments which can be proposed in an “amendments convention,” even if the states, as in SCR1005, try to limit it. Article V states, “Congress…on the application of the Legislatures of two thirds of the several States, shall call a Convention for proposing Amendments…” (that’s amendments in the plural).
 
The highest authority to ever speak on an amendments convention was Chief Justice Warren Burger. He said, “I have repeatedly given my opinion that there is no effective way to limit or muzzle the actions of a Constitutional Convention. The Convention could make its own rules and set its own agenda. Congress might try to limit the Convention to one amendment or to one issue, but there is no way to assure that the Convention would obey. After a Convention is convened, it will be too late to stop the Convention if we don’t like its agenda…Our 1787 Constitution was referred to by several of its authors as a ‘miracle.’ Whatever gain might be hoped for from a new Constitutional Convention could not be worth the risks involved…” .
 
Letter from retired Chief Justice Warren Burger opposing a Constitutional Convention, June 22, 1988
 
 
More information from Phyllis  Schlafly on a Call for a Constitutional Convention:
 

SCR 1005

 
 
 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

Applying to the congress of the United States to call a convention for proposing an amendment to the Constitution of the United States to provide that an increase in the federal debt requires approval from a majority of the legislatures of the separate states.
 
Whereas, Article V of the Constitution of the United States provides authority for a convention to be called by the Congress of the United States for the purpose of proposing amendments to the Constitution on application of two-thirds of the legislatures of the several states ("amendments convention"); and
 
Whereas, the Legislature of the State of Arizona favors the proposal and ratification of an amendment to the Constitution of the United States that will provide that an increase in the federal debt requires approval from a majority of the legislatures of the separate states.
 
Therefore
 
Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Arizona, the House of Representatives concurring:
 
  1. That, pursuant to Article V of the Constitution of the United States, the Legislature of the State of Arizona formally applies to the Congress of the United States to call a convention for the purpose of proposing an amendment to the Constitution of the United States, to be ratified by the legislatures or by conventions in three-fourths of the several states, that will provide that an increase in the federal debt requires approval from a majority of the legislatures of the separate states.

  2. That the amendments convention contemplated by this application be entirely focused on and exclusively limited to the subject matter of proposing for ratification an amendment to the Constitution of the United States providing that an increase in the federal debt requires approval from a majority of the legislatures of the separate states.

  3. That this application constitutes a continuing application in accordance with Article V of the Constitution of the United States until at least two-thirds of the legislatures of the several states have made application for an equivalently limited amendments convention.

  4. That the Secretary of State of the State of Arizona transmit a copy of this Resolution to the President of the United States Senate, the Speaker of the United States House of Representatives, each Member of Congress from the State of Arizona and the presiding officers of each house of the several state legislatures, requesting their cooperation in applying for the amendments convention limited to the subject matter contemplated by this application. 
 

 
Google Ads are provided by Google and are not selected or endorsed by Eagle Forum
Eagle Forum • PO Box 618 • Alton, IL 62002 phone: 618-462-5415 fax: 618-462-8909 eagle@eagleforum.org